image
Nubia, based on art by oneoffkritik via deviantart.com

is it okay that i’m a mess when i see you
that i’m infatuated with your chocolate skin
signature curveage
lips full of promise
the way it moves in a sundress
before i get your name?
is it okay
for me to be in love with you
just for being a black woman?
is it off balance
to worship the smell of cocoa and shea
how they rub into my face
when i lay in the softness
of your cheeks?
to wish we knew what tribe
your ancestors grew your roots from
find that land
kiss it
give thanks for stretch marks
in the right places
nature’s tattoos
telling the eye what is real?
can i thirst to
drop my anchor in the depths of you
to swim in your soul
because you are a black woman?
is it fine that
i’m not as deep as i will be?
that your walk is
the sexiest thing about you
to a man concerned with carriage
who prefers sex in the light
your face unmade?
that i look to you
and find reasons for the earth to turn
the sun to shine
the moon to reflect it?
can i be undividual in my singular effort
to make space in every part of you
for me?
will you let me love you
black woman?

